Tonight’s Dinner: Tamale Casserole

Tonight my boyfriend’s mother asked us to make dinner… Immediately he wanted to make something healthy, his suggestion… salad. Okay, I am all for salads.. but is that really what someone wants for a main course?… me personally??!?! definitely NOT, last time I checked I wasn’t a bunny rabbit. This bunnies main courseA  salad is meant to be a side not the main dish. As for the healthy part that I could agree with him on.. so I went online to my go to magazine for a quick and easy recipe (cookinglight).

What did we decided on? Tamale Casserole not only was it DELISH but it satisfied my Mexican craving for the night (be prepared, I tend to have lots of Mexican cravings). I will clarify that by no means is this a traditional Mexican Tamale.. but it was still tasty none the less. I also must share that I found this recipe on cookinglight.com and modified it to meet the needs of my own fat ass…

Prep Time: 15 minutes

Serving: 8 (enough to feed a family of 5, and those I ate with eat… ALOT)

Tamale Casserole

Here is what you will need:

  • 3 cup preshredded Mexican blend cheese
  • 1/3 cup fat-free milk
  • 1/4 cup egg substitute (Egg Beaters)
  • 1 teaspoon ground cumin
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground red pepper
  • 1  (14 3/4-ounce) can cream-style corn
  • 1  (8.5-ounce) corn muffin mix (Jiffy)
  •   2 (4-ounce) can chopped green chiles, drained
  • 1  (10-ounce) can red enchilada sauce (such as Old El Paso)
  • 2 cups shredded cooked chicken breast
  •   Fat-free sour cream

How to prepare it:

1. First and foremost preheat the oven to 400°.

2. Combine 1 cup of cheese with the next 7 ingredients (cheese through chiles) in a large bowl, stir the mixture using a wooden spoon until moist.

3. Coat a 13×9 inch pan with cooking spray and pour the concoction in the pan (you can also use two 9×9 pans).

4. Bake at 400° for 15 minutes or until the corn bread mixture looks set.

5. Poke the corn bread with a fork

6. Pour enchilada sauce over top, followed by the chicken and the remaning cheese.

7. Bake the casserole at 400° for 15 minutes or just until the cheese melts.

8. Remove from oven; let stand 5 minutes.

9. Enjoy!! (best served with sour cream)

It was not just my opinion that this recipe was a keeper! We served it with a simple green SIDE salad (Luis’ initial dinner idea)

and voila… DINNER!!!! If you are looking for a lighter version of this recipe you can find it on cookinglight.com.

Originally posted on July 14, 2011 on Tumblr by muah!!
September 20, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

