The Spanish Waldorf Salad

Tonight when dinner time came around I was feeling two things, hungry and lazy. Which left me with two options, eat the piece of left over pizza? or throw something together quickly? As school recently started and I have little to no time to exercise I opted for the healthier option and made a salad.

Okay, yes I am aware that I recently ranted about how a salad does not constitute as a meal, but this was no ordinary salad.. It was more of a mixture of deliciousness!! Below is the recipe. It is by far a quick and easy recipe that requires no hassle.

What you need:

1/2 of a medium sized tomato

1/2 of an medium sized avocado

1/4 a cup of chick peas 1/2 cup of precooked (and cut) chicken

1/4 cup fresh mozzarella

1 1/2 TBS balsamic vinaigrette

Handful of sunflower seeds

Fresh mixed salad greens

A sprinkle of salt and pepper

The Preparation:

This part is fairly self explanatory. Put the lettuce in bowl..Cut EVERYTHING up (but the sunflower seeds, dressing, and lettuce) Throw all of the chopped ingredients on the lettuce.. Sprinkle on the sun flower seeds, salt, pepper, and dressing and YUM. a delicious salad that us not salad like at all:)

Reflecting back on this dinner creation.. It was more of fresh summer concoction then a green salad.. Maybe the Spanish version of a Waldorf salad?! Who knows, but I love avocados and it was yummy. The next day I even had left overs for lunch.. Which I happily ate.. This time I added the other half of the avocado:-)

waldorf salad.. same concept different ingredients

A waldorf salad.. same concept different ingredients..

(walnuts, apples, celery and mayo). A classic at the

Waldorf-Astoria Hotel in NYC

Spanish Waldorf Salad… (below is not my picture,

apparently I am not the only one with this recipe idea..

and I thought it was orginal 😦 )

Ps sorry if the formatting is strange.. This is my first time blogging from my phone! Be patient with me, I am technologically illiterate

September 20, 2011. Uncategorized.

Leave a Comment

Be the first to comment!

Leave a Reply

Trackback URI

